Jollibee Youth Challenge awarding held

November 1, 2018 21:07 pm

“We have to use our knowledge, privilege, and in the future, our expertise to help each other solve problems in our society.”

These were the words of Jodimarie Lloyd Tio, a member of USC Team Catalyst (see photo above), one of two teams from the University of San Carlos that made up the three finalists of the Jollibee Farmer’s Entrepreneurship Project: Youth Challenge. Team Catalyst is composed of Jodimarie Lloyd Tio, Adrian Tan, Mar Kristian Gerolaga, Francis Wilson Po, and Alexandrea Yap. Team BUKAD, composed of James Brian Alfante, Veronica Charneil Bentulan, Jason Moen Pestaño, Paul Francis Sanico, and Rachel Ann Castañeda, (see photo below) also made the finals.

Tio gave the speech in behalf of all the youth teams who took part in the FEP Youth Challenge, an initiative of the Jollibee Group Foundation (JGF) to empower and involve students in creating innovative solutions for Filipino farmers. With the state of the agricultural sector gradually worsening, it was the goal of the Farmer’s Entrepreneurship Project to help elevate the status of small-scale farmers.

The Youth Challenge kicked off last September 2017 when the JGF held a series of roadshows to invite students from different schools to participate. In November 2017, JGF held a bootcamp for all the participating teams. About 20 teams from all over the country attended the bootcamp, pitched their projects, and received a grant from JGF to implement their ideas. After a year, the project culminated last Thursday, October 25, 2018, at the Fr. Michael Richartz Conference Center during an awarding ceremony hosted by Adrian Tan, a Carolinian student, and Sharleene Alayan, program officer of JGF.

Engr. Christine Marie Gohetia acted as the focal person and liaison between JGF and the University, while team coaches Engr. Jaybee Lacea (Team Catalyst), Engr. Warren Nunez (Team Ceres), and Dr. Angelo Cabije (Team BUKAD) mentored the teams (see photo above). Members of the third USC team (Ceres) namely Caryl Literal, Sheila Tabaranza, Michelle Camara, Robin Symone Romarate, and Neil Lawrence Monzon, were also present and recognized for their contribution to the project.

The event was graced by the University President Fr. Dionisio Miranda, SVD, Fr. Aleksander Gaut (Vice President for Academics Affairs), Fr. Narciso Cellan, SVD (Asst. Vice President for Academic Affairs), Fr. Generoso R. B. Rebayla Jr., SVD (Vice President for Administration), and Fr. Eleno Bucia, SVD (Director, Knowledge Technology Transfer Office). Representing JGF were Leo Cortez (Program Director), Sharleene Alayan (Program Officer), Gesela Tiongson (Executive Director), and Marissa Camacho (JGF Trustee).

Tags: Engineering