The USC School of Engineering hosted the Philippine Technological Council’s accreditation interim visit for all the University’s engineering programs, from 5 to 7 December 2016. .

The team of evaluators for the different programs was composed of the following:  Dr. Virgilio Abellana  for BS Chemical Engineering; Dr. Dante Silva for BS Civil Engineering; Dr. Policarpio Tena II for BS Computer Engineering; Engr. Raymond Marquez for BS Electrical Engineering; Dr. Jennifer Dela Cruz for BS Electronics Engineering; Dr. Dennis Kilong-kilong for BS Industrial Engineering, and Engr. Rocel Gualberto  for BS Mechanical Engineering.

The team chair was Engr. Alejandro Ballado Jr. who was assisted by Dr. Lydia Tansinsin, ACBET Chair; Engr. Federico Monsada, PTC President and Engr. Mel Dennis Ferrer, PTC Executive Director.

PTC is the sole representative of the Philippine jurisdiction, being a provisional member to the Washington Accord since June 2013. The Washington Accord recognizes the substantial equivalency of engineering programs accredited by full members or signatory bodies and recommends that graduates of said accredited programs be recognized by the other bodies as having met the academic requirements for entry to the practice of engineering.

The awarding of the certificate of accreditation for the BS Computer Engineering, BS Electronics Engineering, BS Industrial Engineering and BS Mechanical Engineering took place at the Bunzel Bldg. Lobby on Wednesday, December 7.

The ceremony was attended by Engr. Federico Monsada, Dr. Lydia Tansinsin, Engr. Mel Dennis Ferrer, who awarded the certificates. Present to witness the awarding ceremony were Fr. President Dionisio Miranda, SVD, and Fr. Anthony Salas, SVD, Vice President for Academic Affairs. The SOE Management Team, faculty members and students attended the event too.

The four engineering programs held the accreditation visit last September 23-25, 2015.

To date all the University’s engineering programs namely Chemical, Civil, Computer, Electrical, Electronics, Industrial and Mechanical Engineering are PTC-accredited.

Source: Engr. Christine Gohetia
              School of Engineering
              12 December 2016